Students at CAC

Planning to apply for a student Fellowship? For more information, visit the NIDCD Student Fellowship page.

Student Fellowships – NIDCD Research Symposium in Clinical Aphasiology

The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communicative Disorders (NIDCD) has funded a conference grant to the Clinical Aphasiology Conference, to meet two aims. First, this grant supports a Research Symposium in Clinical Aphasiology (RSCA), embedded in the schedule of the Clinical Aphasiology Conference (CAC). Historically, this Research Symposium has been organized around cutting-edge theory and data on aphasia and related neurological communication disorders and their assessment, treatment, and neurocognitive bases. In the current funding cycle for the years 2023-2028, the RSCA is shifting its focus to include public health and health disparities, especially as they relate to aphasia, related communication disorders, and the underlying health conditions that cause them.

Second, the grant provides funds for approximately 15 students to participate in the RSCA, and by extension, the CAC. Student fellows will be reimbursed up to $1700 for travel and conference expenses. The RSCA also provides special mentoring opportunities for student fellows. These include a ‘host mentor’ assigned to each individual fellow, a reception with host mentors and other fellows, the RSCA lunch in which fellows have an opportunity to interact with the RSCA keynote speaker, the RSCA poster session where fellows present and discuss their research, and the RSCA mentoring breakfast, in which student fellows interact with seasoned CAC investigators about topics personal and/or professional. Publication mentoring for work presented at the RSCA is also available.

For more information, visit the NIDCD Student Fellowship page. Examples of Part 1 of the application process are as follows –  example Research Statement and example abstract for submission to CAC.

We look forward to receiving and reviewing your application.

Committee members:

  • Argye Hillis, M.D., M.S.
  • Nichol Castro, Ph.D.
  • William Hula, Ph.D.
  • Diane Kendall, Ph.D.
  • Swathi Kiran, Ph.D.
  • Amy Rodriguez, Ph.D.
  • Cynthia Thompson, Ph.D.
  • Heather Harris Wright, Ph.D.